top of page

Half a Sandwich

I’m here to complete a sentence. The one that says “women are half the society”. I read it somewhere sometime in my adolescence, and I held it up ever so dearly.

Little did I know that I was to grow into half a female.

I declared womanhood when I wore the hijab and held it ever so dearly. Then I grew and grew and hit an age where my body shrank, then shrank, till my brain became a prune,

and my womb devoured the rest of it.

“She’s to bear a child”, the other wombs conjured, “but she didn’t”.

I was though allowed to keep my left hand for the marriage ring.

“it’s naked” they whispered.


A skinny man once said to the sandwich guy “what’re you gonna do with the testosterone over hear” he nodded toward me, as I waited for my sandwich.

I could’ve left. I could’ve banged his head on the counter and walked out like a feminist.

I didn’t.

I only picked up my sandwich and sat in my car.

They were rumored to taste just like the ones back home.

It smelled like it.

It didn’t matter.

I only wanted to devour it. Quench my anger. Push down the lump in my throat.

The sandwich was too big. It had a bit of everything. North American. Couldn’t finish it.

And I don’t remember.

What happened to the other half

"HOAGIE HALF" by Mike Geno. pinterest.com

bottom of page